Monday, June 9, 2014

My Beginning Tour with Author LaQuette - Guest Post and Giveaway!!

Love is an ideal dream for most, and an unattainable illusion for many.  We all want it—need it.  Depending on who you ask it’s either the most sought after thing in our lives, or the most feared.  Either way, love is a huge component of what brings meaning to our lives.  So what happens if you’re never fortunate enough to have it?  What happens if you walk through life from the cradle to adulthood without ever truly having known love?
My book, My Beginning, was born out of several questions.  The first, can you truly love someone that you’ve never met?  Although the main characters know of each other through mutual and familial connections, they have not had contact with one another.  How then can love have lived in their hearts?  Can mutual love of a treasured friend and family member be enough of a tie for two complete strangers to bond and fall in everlasting love? 
For many of us, we scour our workplaces or clubs, or friends of friends, or various social connections to deepen our dating pool.  Would you ever consider that it could flourish from a helping hand extending beyond the grave?
Well, that’s what happens in My Beginning.  Death is not the end of love, it’s the Genesis of it.


Take a moment to read this excerpt:


“Angela Johnson was a special woman.  She had the ability to see what a person’s need was, and would do her best to meet that need even if it meant inconveniencing herself.  She was kind, gentle, and a great listener.  She had the ability to just listen to you, without passing judgment, without inflicting unwanted advice, she just listened and let you vent if that was what you needed.  I know there was many a time when I would just talk to Sister Johnson, because I felt there was no one else that could listen objectively.  There were times when I felt I couldn’t talk with my family, or even my husband for that matter, but Sister Johnson was always there to do nothing more than listen to me talk.
“I found it so amazing that over the many years that our families were intertwined, that as close as Drew has been to my family over the years, and as close as I have been to Sister Johnson, this is the first time that either of us has laid eyes on one another.  But even though Drew and I have never been formerly introduced, Drew, I have to tell you that I feel as if I’ve known you for years.  Many of the conversations I had with your mother were spent with her expressing her pride in her beautiful son.”
Genesis paused for a moment watching Drew.  He slowly raised his head, and looked up at her.  For the first time in the ten years since Genesis had first heard her brothers mention Drew’s name, she saw his face.  His smooth skin the color of buttered toffee was covered by a thin shadow of dark brown hair.  Genesis wondered if Drew usually wore a beard, but when she looked closely at him she realized the unruly tight curls that were beginning to creep up on his head probably meant he needed both a haircut and a shave.  The raven circles that were his eyes were filled with unshed tears.  The redness of his eyes told the story of his weariness and his pain.  The droop between his shoulder blades voiced the heavy burden Drew was carrying. 
Loss usually had that effect on people; it had a way of beating a person down until they were weak with a broken spirit.
Genesis understood loss all too well, more than she ever wanted to admit.  Still, she realized this moment wasn’t about her grief, but the grief of Angela Johnson’s son.  She took in a slow breath and continued to speak.
“Drew, if there’s one thing your mother always wanted you to know, it was how much she loved you, and how proud she was of the man you are.  She worried for years that she would never be able to teach you how to be a proper man, because your father died when you were so young.  But in the end, you surpassed all of her expectations, and when she died, she died knowing that she had done her job and been a good mother to you. 
“Your mother called me a few weeks ago and told me she needed me to come to New York.  I didn’t ask any questions, I got myself together and found my way to her doorstep.  She told me she wasn’t long for this life, and she wanted to make sure she asked a personal favor of me while she still could.  She said, ‘My boy, Drew will hurt when I’m gone.  He doesn’t have any other family other than the Lawrences.  Please,’ she said to me. ‘Please, sing His Eye is on the Sparrow at my homegoing.  I’ve always loved hearing you sing that song; it’s always given me untold comfort.  I want that for my boy, I need for him to feel that.’  So I slowly nodded my head and told her no matter where or when it happened, I would stand for her at that time and sing this song for you, Drew.”  Genesis nodded to her mother, and Charlotte began to play the first notes of the somber song.
Something began to happen as Genesis sang; the sadness in the room began to be slowly blanketed by a gentle relief.  People began to stand and clap, and dance in the aisles.  The congregation was cheering her on, but to Genesis, the only person she saw, or even cared to see at that moment was Drew.  As she continued to sing her song, she stepped out of the pulpit, and walked to where Drew was sitting.  She placed a hand on his sagging shoulder trying her best to comfort him through the words of her offered song. 
As she sang, tears fell from her eyes and onto his shoulder.  Drew stood for the first time during the ceremony, he clapped, he released the tears he had been holding back, and he allowed the celebration of his mother’s spirit and life to fill him.
As Genesis sang, she watched Drew raise his hands and just release the pain, the hurt, the sorrow he’d been bearing in the moment.  When the last notes of the song passed through her lips, she opened her eyes, and they immediately locked with Drew’s.  No words were shared between them; she stepped into his awaiting embrace and the two just held each other until there were no more tears to cry.
Her sense memory of what it felt like to be wrapped in Drew’s arms brought the electric static she’d felt traveling across her skin back to her remembrance.  She’d needed to hang on to him, for as long as she could.  Fortunately, the cover of grief had made it appropriate for her to melt into the strange man’s arms in the middle of her father’s church for the entire congregation to see.
The unexpected rattle of turbulence snatched her from her reverie.  The shaking cabin seemed to shake her mind clear of the vivid images flashing before her eyes.  That day of Angela Johnson’s funeral, Drew and Genesis had shared something profoundly intense.  Now a year later, her devotion to her brother, her fondness of Drew’s late mother, and the intense momentary experience shared between herself and Drew had her traveling three thousand miles to help a man she barely knew.







BLURB
Genesis Lawrence left her home and family in Brooklyn, New York ten years ago and never looked back. When you've spent your entire life protecting yourself from the ones that are supposed to love you, running to the other side of the country seems like the best idea ever. Emotionally bankrupt, she begins rebuilding her life after failed familial connections and a broken marriage leave her too raw to ever believe happiness exists for her. Work as a Physical Therapist in her rehab clinic is all she knows and all she wants.   Drew Marrack has spent the last year of his life trying to end the soul-searing pain of losing his mother by any means necessary, even if that means ending him—literally. After a tragic accident and a resulting disability that devastates the tattered remnants of his world, only one name can give him a brand-new start: Genesis.   Pain, heartache, secrets, and tragedy from the past bring them together, and then fight to tear them apart. Is new love strong enough to give them the fresh beginning they both need, or is this simply the beginning of their end?



AUTHOR BIO
A native of Brooklyn, New York, LaQuette spends her time catering to her three distinct personalities: Wife, Mother, and Healthcare Provider. Writing: her escape from the everyday, has always been a friend and comforter. She loves writing and devouring romance novels. Although she possesses a Masters degree in English Lit, she'd forego Shakespeare any day to read something hot, lusty, and romantic.



LINKS
Facebook.com/LaQuetteTheAuthor
Twitter: @LaQuetteLikes
Goodreads.com/LaQuette
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Why Yellow Jackets Can't Find the Hole Excerpt




Blurb:

The Yellow Jackets are a group of young men in their early twenties who have taken a vow of sexual purity. But making a vow and keeping a vow is two different things. Each of them struggle in one way or the other to remain sexually unscathed. Bryant, one of the Jackets, has moved off campus from the all-boys school and finds himself neighbors to a very tantalizing beauty. Only this girl is much more than she seems, and unbeknownst to Bryant, she makes it her mission in life to take his virginity. Bryant and his roommates, in the meantime, are slowly discovering that all of their fellow Yellow Jackets have secrets. Not to mention that there’s a spy in their midst—one who is doing everything he possibly can to expose the fact that the Yellow Jackets are not as ‘pure’ as they all seem.



Excerpt:



Buy Link:
http://www.amazon.com/Yellow-Jackets-Cant-Find-Hole-ebook/dp/B00KPM5ZFI/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1401707789&sr=8-3&keywords=emily+walker

Find me!!

Twitter - http://www.twitter.com/authorewalker
Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/authoremilywalker
Facebook page - http://www.facebook.com/emilywalkerfans
Google + - https://plus.google.com/u/0/+EmilyWalkerauthor/posts
Pinterest - http://www.pinterest.com/authoremilywalk/


Monday, June 2, 2014

Book Blitz for Chocolate!

Title: Chocolate
Author: Storm Chase Genre: Romance Erotica
Hosted by: Lady Amber's Tours
Synopsis
Star is a top escort with a lucrative sideline in Bondage and Discipline. However, a wrong move lands her in Siberia as the unwilling leading lady in a series of extreme S&M films. Refusing to give in to fear, Star fights back, eventually driving her captors to present her as a gift to Alexei, a prison officer who is feared throughout the state. Star quickly discovers Alexei has a penchant for kinky sex, and a tough exterior but a kind heart – and a seemingly unending supply of chocolates. She falls in love, unaware that Alexei is hiding a secret even darker than her own past. Chocolate is a fun read with a feisty heroine and a hero with a soft center.
Storm Chase was born September 2012. Her alter ego is Ellen Whyte, a syndicated author who has published roughly 3000 articles and 10 print books. The alter ego is the steady type; Storm is the tearaway who's dedicated to making it work with epublishing.
Buy Links
An excerpt from Chocolate: An Erotic Romance in Siberia by Storm Chase
Star sat down at the table and tucked in. As the egg yolks mixed with the bacon and creamy sauce, she moaned slightly.
“Oh my God, this is better than sex!”
Alexei was looking somewhat startled. “Glad you like it.”
Star nodded. “Mate, this is even better than chocolate!”
He smiled and went back to his iPad.
He was a strange man, Star thought. She’d been frightened of him at first, and so had Ivan and Sorge, which proved something was up. Yet though he was cool and distant most of the time, he was generous too. The food was brilliant, he constantly filled up the bedroom drawer with soaps and creams, and bed last night had turned out fantastic; if you didn’t count that sneaky thing with the collar.
When he smiled, he was quite good-looking. She liked the way his eyes lengthened, and the way his smile lit up his face. Pity he didn’t smile a lot. He didn’t exactly look bad tempered. It was more like he was analysing everything. As if he was standing a little bit apart from the world around him.
Star wondered if he was on drugs but dismissed it. He wasn’t one of those buff “my body is my temple” types but he was lean and lightly muscled.
A gym nut maybe but more likely a runner, Star considered.
She looked about her. The house was comfortable and there were no pipes, bongs or even ashtrays. Everything was clean, tidy and organised. Efficient, that was the word. No, he wasn’t the type to mess about with any sort of happy dust.
If this deal were going to work, she would have to figure him out. But first she had to get that collar off.
“Finished?” Alexei had put down the iPad.
“It was the best thing I’ve ever put in my mouth. Ever.”
He gave her a slight smile. “Good. You can do the dishes; I’m off for a run.” He looked out the window. “It’s too cold and wet for you to come along.”
So she was allowed outside? That sounded all right, Star thought.
“If you do go out, just be careful not to go too far into the woods.”
“Because of the wicked wolf?”
“Bears. They come to steal rubbish.”
Star stared at him. “Bears? Where is this place?”
“Divnogorsk in Siberia.”
“Blimey!” Star was taken aback. “It’s not snowing.”
“It will in a few weeks.”
“So I’m winter entertainment?”
“Got it in one.” Alexei pushed the iPad towards her. “Here. You’ll want to catch up with things. Send some email maybe. If you like comics, I’ve got Batman, Batgirl, Superman, all the classics. In the original English.” He smiled. “But do the dishes first, ok?”
Star stared at him. “You’re the weirdest fucking Dom I’ve ever come across,” she burst out.
He just looked at her. “What makes you think I’m a Dom?”
Star touched the collar. “What’s this then?”
“I like it,” he said easily.
“It’s decoration? I’m not a fucking Christmas tree, am I?” He wasn’t looking mad so Star thought they’d better have it out. “ And I had a look in your drawers, mate. Whips, chains and all sorts of fun toys. If you’re not a Dom, what are you?”
He enjoyed the way her accent varied from her native London tones to a put-on refined twang but he didn’t quite get everything she said. Still, it didn’t matter. This was the Star he’d seen a glimpse of in Ivan’s film. Fearless, forthright, vulgar and fun.
He wasn’t going to tell her about the GPS chip in the collar. Or that it was the only way he could think of to let her run around without him worrying about her getting lost or trying to run away and landing in serious trouble.
Also, there was always the remote possibility that someone might come looking for him one day. If that happened, and if they decided to take Star, the collar would give him an edge. Best to let her think it was part of the job.
“You shouldn’t label people, Star,” he said lightly. “It’s not PC, you know.”
Leaving her open-mouthed, Alexei went off for his run.
Star sat and thought for a while. She opened the front door, just to see what would happen. There were no alarm bells but a blast of icy rain made her shut it hastily again. Then she shrugged and did the dishes.

Sunday, June 1, 2014

The Crimson Series Blog Tour!!

Title: The Crimson Series Box Set

Author: Amos Caddidy       

Genre: Dark Urban Fantasy

Hosted by: Lady Amber's Tours

Book Description:
For a limited time only, all three books in the Crimson Series are collected together in this box set.
A Dark Urban Fantasy saga, filled with supernatural intrigue. There are twists, turns and characters that will make your legs go weak... 
Amos Cassidy - a team of two. Amos is a 30 year old Diva and Cassidy a 37 year old mum of three.  Aside from a passion for writing and a love of reading they also share an addiction to coffee, love anything Joss Whedon and are constantly playing tug of war over Jensen Ackles.
They have been writing together for five years, having written three books in 'The Crimson Series', and their latest novel - the first book in a brand new series - 'The Rain: Rebirth', which is out now.
Buy Links (for the box set):
Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Crimson-Series-Box-Amos-Cassidy-ebook/dp/B00KAYZRF4/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1400754639&sr=8-4&keywords=amos+cassidy
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Crimson-Series-Box-Amos-Cassidy-ebook/dp/B00KAYZRF4/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1400754684&sr=1-1&keywords=crimson+series+box+set
Author Links:
Website: http://amoscassidy.com/ Crimson Series Blog: http://crimsonseries.wordpress.com/ Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Amos-Cassidy-World/172592816124684 Twitter: https://twitter.com/amoscassidy Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5762034.Amos_Cassidy Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/amoscassidy/
EXCERPT (from Crimson Midnight):
1. GOODBYE FOR NOW
Rose stood in the bedroom doorway, shoulder propped against the doorframe, thumbs tucked into the pockets of her low-rise Levis. She cocked her head, watching Greg’s backside moving back and forth like an overactive piston.
Had it always been that hairy?
She cleared her throat. “I guess you’re busy,” she said, “maybe I should pop back later.”
The piston halted and Greg practically threw himself off his bed partner as if she were an unwanted hot potato. “Fuck! Rose! Fuck!”
“Yeah, I can see that,” Rose said.
“What are you…I mean, when did you-”
“Get here?” she glanced casually at her wristwatch. “About five minutes ago.”
She noticed him surreptitiously pull the bedspread up to cover his crotch.  “What are you doing here?” he asked.
“I thought I’d surprise you.” She pushed herself off the doorframe sauntering into the room. “I guess I succeeded.”
A petite five foot four, with the elfin doe-eyed features of a Manga sketch topped with long golden hair, Rose didn’t look like a threat. In fact, she was pretty certain that she would have been cast as the lead in any production of ‘Legally Blonde’ on looks alone, but the tussled brunette, frozen on the bed, saw something in Rose’s sapphire gaze that galvanised her into action. She shot off the bed making a grab for a pair of lacy red underwear on the floor.
“Sit!” Rose said.
The brunette froze, her fingers mere inches from the lacy garment that would cover her Brazilian-waxed bits.  Yeah, Rose wished she’d missed that bit.
Rose smiled, but it didn’t reach her eyes. “Please don’t leave on my account. This won’t take more than a minute.”  She strode casually to the bedside cabinet on the brunette’s side of the bed, and felt her shrink away.  Ignoring her she began to rummage inside.
Greg pulled on his boxers. “What are you doing?”
“Getting my stuff.” She pulled out a couple of paperbacks, her overnight cosmetics bag and her hardback copy of ‘The Kama Sutra’. It felt tacky and sticky.  Rose cracked it open and frowned. “You got spunk stains on my book.” She threw the book onto the bed wiping her hands on her jeans.  She shoved the rest of her stuff into her backpack, which lay on the floor by the bedside table. Swinging the pack onto her shoulder she headed for the door.  She felt Greg behind her, his breath hot on the nape of her neck.
“What, so that’s it? You’re just gonna leave?” He made a grab for her shoulder and she shrugged him off.
“Threesomes are really not my thing,” she said and carried on down the hallway.  She needed to get out of here quick before…
“This is all your fault you know!”
She paused, hand on the banister. Now this she had to hear.  She turned to face him.
He had his arms crossed across his broad chest, tanned and speckled with dark hair. She had loved lying on that chest. Her eyes travelled up to settle on his face.  He wore his favourite expression– smug.  “Enlighten me.”
He shrugged, “If you’d put out more often this would never have happened. A man has needs you know, and you’re always busy-”
And then he was on the floor clutching his nose.  Rose blinked staring at her fist, feeling the anger, which had erupted so suddenly, dissipate.  The roaring in her ears subsided and she heard Greg whimper.
“Wha…Wha ya do tha fa?”
Some questions don’t deserve a response.
Rose turned on her heel and walked away

Monday, May 5, 2014

Very Wicked Beginnings



Because Ilsa Madden-Mills fell in love with her beautifully flawed characters in Very Wicked Things, she penned Very Wicked Beginnings as a prequel novella to the book, featuring the story of football star Cuba Hudson and ballerina Dovey Beckham.

Since May is Mental Health Awareness Month, all May proceeds from the sale of the novella will be donated to The Keith Milano Memorial Fund which benefits the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP).  www.afsp.org 

Title: Very Wicked Beginnings
Series: Briarcrest Academy #1.5, a prequel novella to Very Wicked Things
Release: Both books will release on May 13th!
Author: Ilsa Madden-Mills
Cover: Photography by Toski Covey
Graphics: Sommer Stein at Perfect Pear Creative Covers
Model: Tanner Belcher




Book Description for prequel Very Wicked Beginnings:

Girls say I’m a walking, talking sex god. Guys call me Hollywood because my life is golden.
It’s not.

But, ESPN did rank me as a four star recruit, calling me one of the best defensive players since Briarcrest Academy opened its esteemed doors. So yeah, with football and a stellar 
GPA, my future seemed good.

Then Dovey Beckham shows up in her short skirts and ballet shoes. Driving me insane. Making me want to beg for her attention.

But that wouldn’t happen, because Cuba Hudson didn’t beg for anything.

She walked around BA like she owned the place, and most days she looked right through me…the one girl I couldn’t have.

So, of course, I made it my mission to claim her, to put her notch on my bedpost.

Because no girl can resist the Heartbreaker of BA.

But I never planned on destroying her.

I never planned on wrecking the one thing that could save me.

Welcome to Briarcrest Academy, where wicked love begins…and ends.






Very Wicked Beginnings
Excerpt from Chapter One

“Two things about me: I play football—and girls.” –Cuba Hudson
I wanted the gorgeous girl in the window.
More specifically, I wanted the dark-haired girl dancing inside the Symthe Arts Building as I stood outside on the twenty yard line at football practice, fixated on her when I should have been focused on the line of scrimmage. I adjusted my helmet and squinted through the afternoon Dallas sun.
Did I know her?
Movement from other players on the field pulled me back. Good thing. As defensive end, it was my job to put the screws to or sack the quarterback as soon as the ball snapped. But I was off today. Probably because I knew I had a shit ton of homework waiting for me at home. With my dream of being a doctor and getting into a good school, being on top of my game in class was important as well. Briarcrest Academy was one of the top-rated private schools in the country, making expectations here high.
Just like every eighteen-year-old kid out there, I had stresses.
But I did have more than the average. I had a sick mom.
But those thoughts faded when I looked back at the window and watched the girl run and then leap in the air, her body doing some kind of crazy in-the-air-leg-split-thing. Damn. She’d gotten at least four feet off the ground.
Then, after landing on her feet light as a feather, she danced away from my view. I waited for her to come back, wanting to check out her toned muscles again, especially her tight ass. And then I randomly wondered if her tits were small. Weren’t all dancers? Yeah. But still, she looked—
“Pay attention, Hudson!” Coach Howe yelled at me.
Fuck. Caught.
I automatically stiffened and tightened my defensive stance, running my eyes across the offensive line, waiting for the play. But the quarterback was pussy-footing around still undecided if they were gonna run or pass. Whatever. Matt the Quarterback was a complete jack ass. I ate guys like him for lunch which wasn’t hard when you’re tall and fast like me.
I got bored.
Out of my peripheral vision, I caught a flash of pink dashing past the window.
She was back.
And like I was addicted to her, my eyes drifted to the building again, one part baffled by the fascination, the other part wanting to get another glimpse of her long legs. As I watched, she adjusted her ponytail as she laughed up at her ballet partner—who was a dude. Crazzzy. Yeah, you’d think he’d be all feminine and shit, but he wasn’t. Nope. Dude looked buff, like he could bench press a school bus.
Something about the girl called to me. Yeah, it was probably that short skirt she wore. I pictured slipping my hand underneath it to her panties. Her core would be hot, on fire for me, of course, and I’d ease my finger inside her wet—
Bam!  I took a hard hit from Tank Carson, an All District offensive guard I routinely ran circles around in practice. He might be big, but I was quick and smart and had more moves than a freaking octopus. So the chance to plant my distracted ass on the turf was an early Christmas present for him. That's what I get for letting some piece of ass get in my game, even if it was practice.  
And so. My unprepared body flew through the air with 290 pounds of Tank on top of it. My head followed my body and hit the turf, the contact reverberating inside my helmet and then everything went black…

Charity Information:

The Keith Milano Memorial Fund was established to help raise awareness about the devastating and deadly disease that is mental illness. Keith’s spirit and laughter is kept alive through our efforts to increase awareness about mental illness and to raise money for education and imperative research. Keith often struggled with society’s perception of mental illness.  Our hope is that by having the strength to say that Keith was “Bipolar” we can strip away the stigma and help others to be more open about their disease. www.keithmilano.org

The Keith Milano Memorial Fund benefits the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP).  www.afsp.org 

AFSP is the only national not-for-profit organization exclusively dedicated to understanding and preventing suicide through research and education, and to reaching out to people with mood disorders and those affected by suicide.


Add Very Wicked Beginnings to you Goodreads:
Add Very Wicked Things to your Goodreads:
Ilsa’s website: http://ilsamaddenmills.com

Haven’t read the first book #1 New Adult Romance Very Bad Things? It’s on sale!!


Author Bio:
Ilsa Madden-Mills writes about strong heroines and sexy alpha males that sometimes you just want to slap. She spends her days with two small kids, a neurotic cat, and her Viking husband. She collects magnets and rarely cooks except to bake her own pretzels. When she’s not typing away at a story, you can find her drinking too much Diet Coke, jamming out to Pink, or checking on her carefully maintained chocolate stash. She loves to hear from fans and fellow authors.


Links to Very Wicked Things USA Today Book Trailer:



Cover Reveal Hosted by:



ENTER THE GIVEAWAY !!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, May 2, 2014

Sketchy by Olivia Samms

I was really into getting this book because I saw it on a Goodreads ad and the cover and description sucked me in. You can see my review below. I listened to it on audiobook, but I was totally into it and listened to the whole book in about 3 days. It was unique and interesting. I recommend it for those who like books with a little bit of everything.


Bea's life has been a mess ever since she got kicked out of private school and sent to rehab. Now clean, Bea is starting over at Packard High School, in a city shaken from two assaults on young women. The latest victim, Willa Pressman-the one who survived-doesn't remember a thing. But Bea has a disturbing new "skill": she can see-and then draw-images from other people's minds. And when she looks at Willa, Bea is shocked by what she sketches. Bea might be the only one who knows Willa's secrets-and who can take down the killer before he strikes again.



Sketchy (Bea Catcher Chronicles, #1)Sketchy by Olivia Samms
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I listened to it on audible. I was really sucked into the story, and I thought Bea was an interesting character. It is hard to show an addict and cravings accurately. I think it was done well. I enjoyed the story and there were times I really hated Willa and felt sorry for Bea so anytime I feel emotion for the characters I feel like the author has done a great job of sucking me in. I will be picking up the second book and continuing the series.

View all my reviews

Here is a link to an interview with the author! I am looking forward to reading or listening to Book 2!!

 

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Reivew and Blog Tour - The Power by Jeff Hennelly

The Power 





Blurb

What would you do if you had the power to heal but it only brought you personal destruction and ruin? Would you still use it?

When a street shaman meets a horrific demise on Dr. Austin MacLean’s ER table, Austin soon discovers a raw and irrepressible power. But when this power inflicts traumatic effects on three chronically ill children, families rush to accuse him, his colleagues condemn him, and the police begin to investigate in this affluent New Jersey beach town....and so do others when the children begin to show inconceivable progress.
Dara Kleows, a local reporter, is the first to connect the children’s gradual healings back to Austin. The two develop a deep bond but Austin remains uncertain as to what this beautiful woman wants. Is she just after a story, or more? There are those who covet Austin’s “power” and at any cost, while Dara is more concerned by Austin’s headlong march toward his own perdition.  




Excerpt

When Austin looked up, he thought he saw a faint corona flicker around DJ. It started growing ever-brighter, and he tried to step back but was pulled closer by some indelible force—an atmospheric hollow drawing his humming body into the eye of an invisible storm. An ear-popping decompression was followed by an overpowering energy surge, his brain and muscle masses engorging with a metamorphic euphoria. Experiencing that spine-chilling “conduit” feeling, he swore as if he were about to be struck by some unseen force. And when DJ looked up, Austin sensed the imminent electrical surge was meant for the boy.

Author Bio

Jeff Hennelly now lives in Chester Springs, Philadelphia, PA. He’s been in the medical device business for over 20 years and has worked with hospitals, clinics, and alternate care facilities from Palo Alto to Prague. His articles and short stories have appeared in numerous trade magazines and journals. He is represented by Eric Myers of the Spielman Agency in New York. His novel, THE POWER was published on Amazon in June, 2013. Look for his new novel, THE 95 PERCENT in 2014.  


BUY LINK


Giveaway


In order to enter to win one of two $5.00 giftcards or a copy of The Power put in the blog comments what you would want your super power to be if you could have one. If you tweet the Amazon link you get an extra entry. Make sure you post your Twitter username in your comment if you do!


                              MY REVIEW

Coming soon - I am still reading this one!!