Tuesday, December 31, 2013

RALLY OF A PURPLE HEART BLOG TOUR

The road west would lead them to each other… Hilde Graham is an independent-spirited waitress living in the heart of early 1940s America. She is sure that she has found true love with a married man, defying convention to be with him. But WWII and a subsequent turbulent marriage challenge her ideals of love, and she is left alone to raise a small son. Determined to find a future free of past mistakes, she travels west on Route 66 to start a new life in postwar California as a single mother. Patrick West has known only defeat through the horrors of war, time in a German P.O.W. camp, and a failed union. His lonely life is revived when he meets Hilde. Each is uniquely capable of understanding the others’ heart as they fight for a second chance at love—but can they build the trust they need to mend their wounded hearts and find lasting happiness?

   

Authors Bio: Brittany Batong has been hearing and telling stories her whole life, most of them based in and around the Los Angeles area. She grew up in the idyllic coastal farm town of Ventura, California, dreaming of becoming a professional character animator. As a child, she spent countless adventures exploring Los Angeles and the greater Southern California region, where most of her extended family was based. She remembers her first experience tasting escargots as a truly religious one. As a teenager she nurtured interests in theatre, poetry, and the arts. At an early age, she developed respect for the sometimes hidden history that dwells underneath the modern facade of contemporary life. She spent four years at the internationally renowned California Institute of the Arts, studying the art of storytelling through hand-drawn animation, after which she...did nothing with her Bachelor of Fine Arts degree. Instead, she continued to observe interesting people and see new story opportunities working for the Cities of Los Angeles and Santa Clarita. Brittany finds that the most interesting stories lie within the hearts of people who lead lives and work in environments that are seemingly ordinary. Ever in love with local history, she enjoys working and playing in Downtown Los Angeles and uncovering its sometimes less-than-evident treasures. She developed the idea for her first novel, "A Time Apart", in her mind for seven years before fully realizing it. She currently resides in Santa Clarita, California with her husband and two sons; and is grateful for this interdependent web of existence of which we are a part.

Links!

http://www.chancespress.com/BrittanyBatong.html

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Chances-Press-LLC/464594523611777

Comment below for a chance to win the e-book!!

Excerpt:

He sits on the steps to the County Courthouse, a pink rubber ball in his hand. His chubby, four-year-old hands can make the ball bounce on the step below—that is not the problem. But to catch the ball before it bounces irretrievably down the steps—now that is another issue. He tried once and it rolled down onto the street, and Mr. Spence of the hardware supply store gave him a sound yelling after nearly running over the ball. Huey saw the tires of the truck barely miss the ball, 'cause he was right there in front of it when it almost happened. Then Mr. Howe didn't even say he was sorry for almost running over the ball. Grown-ups sure are funny sometimes.

Now he is unsure whether he should try again. Daddy always says you can't learn anything new unless you practice...but Mommy said to behave while she and Daddy are away; and he doesn't want anyone else to yell at him. These things always have a way of getting back to Mommy. Anyway, he wasn't supposed to leave Gramma's house at all. But he likes to explore, and figures as long as he doesn't do anything too bad, he'll be able to get back before anyone knows. He decides to keep the ball safely clutched in his hand while he instead tries to jump from step to step on just one foot. He's seen some of the older girls in town do it before, and he's pretty sure that even though he's younger he can do anything a stupid girl can do. With one hand holding the ball and the other holding his left leg behind him, he starts to give it a try. He makes it down the first eight steps successfully (counting all the way, 'cause Mommy taught him to count to ten already). But then he loses grip of his ball, and it throws him off balance as he tumbles to the bottom of the steps, right in front of Mrs. Muller and Mrs. Simpson. Mrs. Muller stumbles. “Hugo Brewer, you naughty little boy! You've nearly tripped me.” Mrs. Simpson is crouching down to help Huey. “Now, Clarissa, you're fine. We need to see if little Huey is okay...Why, Huey, you've scraped your chin!” Feeling jarred but not wanting to show that to crummy old Mrs. Muller, Huey holds in the tears that are starting to form and stands as tall as his 3-foot figure will allow, chin jutting forward and blond hair shining in the afternoon sun. “It's all right, Miss Simpson. I'm awful sorry about trippin'.” “Where on earth is your mother?” Mrs. Muller shakes her head. Huey scowls at his interrogator with icy blue eyes. “Gramma said they're here.” “Well, as if it wasn't bad enough that she's flouting at God's will, she leaves her young son outside to wreak havoc on the town!” Mrs. Simpson pulls at Mrs. Muller. “Clarissa, don't make a bad situation worse. I'm sure she had little choice, given her people are all the way in De Soto. It probably didn't seem right to have Mrs. Brewer look after him, given the occasion.” “What's a 'casion?” asks Huey inquisitively of Mrs. Simpson. Ignoring his question, Mrs. Muller pulls away Mrs. Simpson. “Come now, Nancy. We don't want to be mixed up in any of this business.” With an apologetic look, Mrs. Simpson follows her less sympathetic friend. Huey watches them go, until he realizes that now his ball is gone completely. Aw, nuts. It must have rolled down into the sewer from the gutter. Darn that old Mrs. Muller and her fussin'. No way Daddy's gonna get him a new one now. He tromps up the stairs and sinks once again onto the top step. There's gotta be some way to get into the sewer. He looks hopefully over at the manhole cover, and then over to the courthouse. Doggone it. Mommy is just now coming out of the courthouse. Huey frowns to himself—he has to get back to Gramma’s before Mommy finds him gone. It’s now or never. He makes a purposeful stride towards the manhole. He does not know that a pink ball is the second thing he will lose today. He does not know that, inside, his parents are finalizing the papers that will change his life forever. As he looks over at a nearby tree, devising a way to break off one of the branches in order that he may use it as a lever, he does not know that in two week’s time he will never again sit on these steps, never again get yelled at by Mr. Spence, never again have heads shaken at him in this small county seat. And he does not know that this is the last day he will ever spend with his father.

Interview!

Tell us the story behind that cover!

Originally, the Purple Heart was the primary focus of the cover, with the two people facing each other in silhouette taking the place of George Washington's profile. But it came off cold and unappealing. I wanted to be careful if using an image of real people. It was important to me that the main characters looked like regular people, not polished models. I wanted there to be an honesty to it. My publisher Michael found this great website of stock photos with some period images, and this image really spoke to me. The man especially looked somewhat like I imagined the character. We purchased the rights to the image and superimposed it onto the modified Purple Heart, and then I played with it in Photoshop to make it look like an illustration. I'm really pleased with the result. There is a joy in that couple, which I think is important in conveying the overall idea of this story of two people relieved to find love as a second chance.

What can we learn from your main character?

I think a lot of Hilde's story is about overcoming the implications of decisions she made in the past. Sure, these decisions we make inform what we do moving on--but you shouldn't have to deny yourself happiness because of past mistakes. Society sometimes confuses us as to how we're supposed to rate our own successes in life and love; when really as women our lives are multi-faceted and anything but conventional. We play different (sometimes competing) roles, and make choices as a result. It takes a strong woman to do the thing that society frowns upon but that ultimately makes her stronger. I think this is a strength that she doesn't realize she has, and she has to be comfortable with herself before she can really be happy with someone else.

What has been your greatest compliment as an author, your worst criticism?

The greatest compliment on this novel was that my dad really felt moved by the story. It was based partially on his mother, and so that it moved him was a true validation of the work. The worst criticism I got was for my first book, A Time Apart. It was rejected by the all the conventional publishing houses I sent it to, and ultimately I self-published until Chances Press picked up the extended distribution. So I suppose everything ultimately happens for a reason.

What part of the story was the hardest to write, the beginning, the middle, the climax?

It was difficult to figure out how to resolve the issues between the couple, after they have a major falling out. It was my husband who really triggered the idea for the resolution centering around both of their relationships with the little boy. When you have children, you often find it is they who see the simple truth in a difficult situation.

Is your main character based on anyone in particular? Did you have a muse for this book?

I based the story partially on what I knew about my paternal grandmother, who came out to California with my dad when he was just 5 years old. What struck me, even though I do not have a similar life experience per se, was how much I related to her once I got inside her head, so to speak. How much I sympathize with women who have been challenged by a perceived failure at convention's expectations.

Fast Round Names of your pets

My cat, Jedi, and my dog, Rosemary (Rosie).

Favorite ice cream, color, book, and television show

Soft spot in my heart for Thrifty's Chocolate Malted Crunch. Blue. Jane Eyre. Once Upon A Time (current); Buffy (all-time).

Fame or Fortune

Neither leads to true happiness. But a little extra money wouldn't hurt.

Grapes or Raisins

Grapes.

Zombies, Vampires, or neither

Vamps, but the kind that eat people, not the kind that shimmer and whine.

Saturday, December 21, 2013

Cover Reveal for Bred by Magic!

Title: Bred by Magic 
Author: Diana Marie DuBois 
Series: Voodoo Vows
Genre: Paranormal
Publisher   Three Danes Publishing LLC
Release Date:  Feb 4, 2014?
Blurb/Synopsis:
What do you get when you mix magic with one of the most prestigious dogs in Germany?   You get something special and powerful.  In a time when witches were hunted down and burned a famous alchemist devised a plan to help protect them.  One particular puppy who is predestined for someone in our time learns all she can before heading on the journey of her life.
My mother always told me and my siblings that we were special. But, that’s something all mothers say.... Isn’t it? What you don’t always hear is that you’re part of the litter of Great Dane puppies destined to protect the witches and warlocks throughout time. We just have to find one another, before our time runs out….

As a young girl, Diana Marie Dubois was an avid reader and was often found in the local public library. Now you find her working in her local library. Hailing from the culture filled state of Louisiana, just outside of New Orleans; she lives with her three Great Danes and four spunky mutts.  Her biggest inspiration has always been the infamous Anne Rice and her tales of Vampires. It was those very stories that inspired Diana to take hold of her dreams and begin writing. She is now working on her first series, Voodoo Vows.



Places to find Diana

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Review of Waking Up Dead!

The Book!





When Dallas resident Callie Taylor died young, she expected to go to Heaven, or maybe Hell. Instead, she met her fate early thanks to a creep with a knife and a mommy complex. Now she's witnessed another murder, and she's not about to let this one go. She's determined to help solve it before an innocent man goes to prison. And to answer the biggest question of all: why the hell did she wake up in Alabama?


 Excerpt
As Molly straightened up, the man slipped the wire over her head and twisted it around her neck. She struggled, but he pulled the garrote tighter and tighter.
I was screaming at the top of my ghostly voice, for all the good it did me. I moved up behind the man and beat at his back with closed fists--fists that slipped in and out of his back without ever making real contact. He shuddered a little--clearly he was one of the very slightly sensitive ones--but he didn’t loosen his hands.
I reached up and tried to grab the wire, tried to pull against the pressure he was exerting on the wire and it did loosen for an instant. But only for an instant. The living have more control over solid objects than the dead do. I never resented that fact more than at that moment.
But I kept trying. I kept trying as Molly’s face turned purple, then blue, then black, kept trying even as she drooped in the man’s grip.
Then he loosened the wire and it was too late. I watched that wispy, light-on-fog life force slip out of Molly and move on to wherever it is that other people go when they die. I was glad she didn’t show up next to me as a full-blown ghost. At that moment, I wouldn’t have wished my impotent half-existence on anyone.
I couldn’t help thinking that if I’d been alive, I might have been able to save her.
If I could have cried real tears, I would have. As it was, I was sobbing hoarsely and calling the man every dirty name I could think of.

I was still cursing as I followed him around the kitchen. First he opened the pantry and pulled out a box of Hefty garbage bags. Then he grabbed a knife out of the block on the counter. And finally, he picked up Molly’s body and carried it to the bathroom.


Author’s Bio: Margo Bond Collins lives in Texas with her husband, their daughter, several spoiled cats, and a ridiculous turtle. She teaches college-level English courses online, though writing fiction is her first love. She enjoys reading urban fantasy and paranormal fiction of any genre and spends most of her free time daydreaming about vampires, ghosts, zombies, werewolves, and other monsters. Waking Up Dead is her first published novel. Her second novel, Legally Undead, is an urban fantasy, forthcoming in 2014 from World Weaver Press.

Links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MargoBondCollin  @MargoBondCollin
Goodreads Author Page: http://www.goodreads.com/vampirarchy

Be sure to add Waking Up Dead to your Goodreads bookshelves: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18428064-waking-up-dead

Book Trailers:
http://youtu.be/KUBg83s4BOU

REVIEW IS ON THE WAY - STILL DEVOURING THIS GREAT PIECE!

Monday, November 25, 2013

Hunter's Assessment Blitz

Hunter’s Assessment

Arcturian Bloodlines

Karyn Pearson



Blurb: After years of training, they should have been ready for this. It was supposed to be a simple mission: eliminate the vampires and acquire the intel they’re guarding.

Shane Kantor figured that this hunter’s assessment would be like every other test the Hunter’s Society had thrown at him and his squad. But he was wrong. Now Shane might just lose everything: his life, his legacy, and worst of all, her.

Excerpt:

“Hi,” she said, extending a hand. “You’re Shane?”
           
            “Yeah,” he nodded woodenly, swallowing a lump in his throat as he shook her hand. “So you’re Sophie. My Predictor.”

            “Yep, that’s me.”
           
            “It’s an honor to have you on my squad.”
           
            Sophie looked shyly away from him, laughing lightly. “No,” she murmured, shaking her head. “The honor’s all mine. I didn’t know you were the Grandmaster’s son. I feel lucky to have been chosen to be part of your squad.”
           
            “Yeah, I figure the Grandmaster wouldn’t want to leave her own kid stuck with just anybody,” Troy, the Marksman, agreed. “If it was me, I’d want to have someone like you well-protected. Wouldn’t want the Grandmaster’s son accidentally getting killed from having incompetent squad mates, now would we?”
           
            Shane frowned. “Let me just make one thing clear, alright?”
           
            “By all means, go ahead, oh righteous leader,” Troy drawled.
           
            “Forget that I’m the Grandmaster’s son. I don’t want preferential treatment. I don’t want you all to look at me and see Shane Kantor, son of Nadia Kantor, the Grandmaster and leader of the Hunter’s Society. I just want you to see me as your friend, your comrade. Nothing more, nothing less. We’re all equals here. Understood?”
           
            “Yes, I understand,” Sophie replied.
           
            Shane looked to Troy, waiting for his answer.
           
            The Marksman sighed, nodding reluctantly. “Alright,” he muttered, throwing his hands up in a gesture of half-surrender, half-compliance. “No favorites?”
           
            “No favorites.” Shane confirmed.
           
            Troy grinned. “So, Mister Not-the-Grandmaster’s-son, how good are you in a fight?”
           
            The Dancer’s eyes lit up with amusement as he regarded his new comrade. “Wouldn’t you like to know?”



About Karyn Pearson:

Karyn Pearson is the author of Spark (Hellfire Trilogy #1) and full-time pet parent of her two dogs Nikki and Jamie. She has a B.A. in Anthropology and has explored dozens of cultures in her studies, but has imagined countless more. Karyn enjoys reading, playing action RPGs, and plotting the next adventure for her characters when she has a spare moment free of the dreaded and undefeated “puppy dog eyes attack.”

Her current projects include Inferno (Hellfire Trilogy #2) and the first novel of the upcoming vampire series, Arcturian Bloodlines. When she’s not writing, Karyn can be found playing with her puppies or Googling various dangerous topics for novel research that make her constantly question why federal agents haven’t yet knocked down her front door.


Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Q and A with Renee Charles and Spotlight on Only Love Survives

THE Q and A!!
 
Guilty Pleasure? Old Musicals...Gene Kelly was so hot
MnMs or Reeces Pieces - MnMs -  no nuts
Zombie Men or Zombie Women? - I'm a purest zombie women or men. Once the parts start falling off there really isn't any difference ...just run!
How often do you shop both online and in store? - I buy clothes on ebay more often than I should... I am addicted to the hunt and then the bidding against other ladies for the prize.
Fav new TV show?? Walking Dead...it isn't new but I don't really like any of the new ones... not sure how I feel about sleepy Hallow..jury is still out on that one.
 
SPOTLIGHT ON ONLY LOVE SURVIVES
 
 

ONLY LOVE SURVIVES RENEE CHARLES

Amidst an epidemic ravaging the world, all Megan Fletcher's hopes for the future lie in getting to Las Vegas where newscasts reported scientists were gathering to search for a cure for the modern plague. After rescuing her from a rooftop surrounded by Zombies, Sam Woods appoints himself her escort. While he knows she is determined to get to Vegas no matter the cost, he doesn't know her secret. And with his hatred of all things Zombie, she doesn’t dare tell him the truth. The more he kisses her, the harder it is for Megan to hide her growing feelings…and the bite-shaped scar.

But Vegas is not the haven it was promised to be, and when Megan’s immunity to the disease is discovered, she realizes her future and her heart belong to Sam, if he will trust her. An idealistic school teacher and ex-corporate mogul manage to find love despite a looming worldwide catastrophe. Can their love survive while everything around them is dying? Will they learn that when facing the end of the world, Only Love Survives?

Available now!

EXCERPT: A storm that spelled danger flashed across Sam’s face. He advanced on Megan so fast, she backed up against the side of the Suburban. Planting a hand firmly on each side of her, he pinned her with his arms as well as his gaze.

“What I want? Are you so hard headed you can’t tell what I want?” He covered her mouth with his lips and crushed her clever comeback with an assault on her senses.

Megan pushed him, but he didn’t budge. Instead, he continued to kiss her until her heart raced and cheeks flushed with need. All resistance melted and she succumbed to the warmth of his embrace. Her arms wound around his neck of their own accord pulling him closer while her tongue sought his in a passionate dance, completely ignoring what her heart wanted.

When he finally broke away leaving Megan breathless and wanting so much more, Sam put his forehead to hers and watched her mouth like a drunk watches amber liquid poured into a glass. “You,” he rasped. “I’ve wanted you since I found you hanging from that damn roof, and all our little encounter in the river did was add fuel to the fire.”

Bio: Author, Renee Charles believes all love is legendary. Being the only female in a house full of giants (husband and two teenage boys) she tends to lean toward the strange and unusual, but inevitably the softer side shines through.

Whether life leads her to a snow covered mountain top, sun dappled forest, or the bottom of a ravine (yes, ditches happen) she always has a pen and note pad ready so wherever the next adventure takes her, she can take notes.

Her own romance began in an insane asylum. Luckily, both she and her husband only worked there. But it makes sense her romance novels have strange beginnings that lead to passionate endings. Romance with a dark twist.

In the face of zombies, werewolves, and big foot she always seems to find a happily ever after to leave you with a sigh at the end.

Facebook link: https://www.facebook.com/ReneeCharlesAuthor

Website link: http://www.reneecharles.net/

Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/Renee-Charles/e/B009Z0MYCI/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

 

THE GIVEAWAY!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway  

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Spotlight on Blood and Bone!




The stakes are high in the second installment of The Iron World Series as Avery Quinn decides which path her life will take. Become a vampire and be with Jack forever, or pledge herself to the Fey and help save Faerie from the horrible Queen Mabry? The more she thinks about it the more she wants to remain human. But as she sinks further into the magical world she has come to love, Avery realizes that remaining human is next to impossible, especially when a dark king sets his sights on her. To make matters worse, a secret society of shape shifters have sworn themselves as Avery’s enemy all because of a certain classmate with a caustic temperament. With a mythical war brewing and Evaine close on her heels, Avery must decide who to give her humanity to before it’s too late.

 



Candace Osmond

Authors Bio: Born in 1985 as Candace Osmond in North York Ontario, I began to travel with my parents at the very young age of four years old. I had lived all over Canada and seen everything my country has to offer, from the enchanting shores of Fogo Island, Newfoundland to the gigantic snow-capped mountains of Port Alberni, British Columbia all by the time I was ten. I did, however, spend most of my life in Eastern Canada where I was surrounded by folklore and legends, not knowing how they would shape my personality and imagination for the rest of my life.

Being the only girl of my age in a small group of kids, in an even smaller town, left me spending most of my time by myself and, in result, letting my imagination take over. I would sit by the shore and dream up stories of mermaids and other fantastic creatures to pass the time. Coming from a family with writers and artists dispersed throughout, it was only natural that I spend my time writing, drawing and reading. I dreamed of becoming nothing more than an artist, a creator of any kind. By the age of eleven, I spent most of my waking hours scribbling down short stories, poems and anything else I could think of, while adding my own personal illustrations. By the age of fourteen, I had won numerous minor arts and writing competitions. I excelled at anything art and literature related so, naturally, I planned to attend university for nothing more or less than that. In 2003 I planned to attend university for Creative Writing and Literary Studies. But, with the fear that I would spend all my time and money on an education and end up in a field that I may very well struggle to succeed in, I backed out and attended school for Design instead
. Now, a successful Designer living happily in sunny Medicine Hat, Alberta, I met a man and fell in love. His passion and talent for art far exceeds my own, but he motivated me to awaken my old habits of staying up late or waking up early to scribble down dreams and ideas before I had forgotten them and they disappeared forever.

Award Winning Designer and Author of The Iron World Series

website address: http://www.ironworldseries.com/index.html

Other links

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Iron-World-Series/457807120906947
Twitter - https://twitter.com/candaceosmond (or @candaceosmond)


Buy Links:

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-CA/ebook/blood-bone
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Blood-Bone-Iron-World-ebook/dp/B00ED406KI/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1376072826&sr=1-1&keywords=blood+and+bone+candace+osmond
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/342041





Excerpt

Change has an irrevocable impact on the mind, body and soul. To the fearful its threateningit means there’s a possibility that things could get worse. To the hopeful, however, it’s encouraging because it means things could get better.
Was I fearful or was I hopeful?
I lay in bed, staring at the ceiling in my sunlit bedroom and pondered about that. To most people this wouldn’t be so stressful. To most people change meant a new hair color or a new job.
But I realized a while ago—I am not most people.
I had been left to make a choice that was so life changing that it would alter me completely, forever. I could choose to become a vampire and gain the strength I desperately needed to protect myself. With this choice I could spend an eternity of nights in the arms of the most perfect creature because I too, would be a perfect creature.
Or, I could choose to pledge myself to a monarch, a leader of the fey. Become a child of magic, wonder and beauty and still possess the strength I need for my defense.
Or door number three, choose not to choose. I could remain human, as I’d lived comfortably for the past eighteen years now. But, to choose nothing would still be a choice, and would determine the path my life would take. None of my options guaranteed a smooth path. But I had a lingering a feeling that, no matter what I chose, the path that was unwinding in front of me was going to be very, very rocky.
**GIVEAWAY**


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, August 31, 2013

Jenna Pizzi is Amazing and so is her Cover Reveal - Chance Encounters!





Sometimes it’s the simple things in life that matter the most.
Emma is a small town girl with big dreams. After years of working hard, she thought she finally had it all: a beach house in Malibu, a fiancé who is a well-known surgeon, and a climbing career in the newspaper world. Except, when Emma finds Matt in bed with another woman only weeks before their wedding, she takes a giant leap by accepting a promotion on the east coast.'

While in her travels across the country, Emma crosses paths with the free-spirited, fly by the seat of his pants, Jacob. She's fascinated by him and his outlook on life.

When circumstances leave her stranded in a strange city, fate brings Jacob and Emma together again. He takes her on a two day journey into his world where he shows her that money doesn’t always buy you happiness. Happiness is there for the taking, all Emma needed to do was know where to look.

So, when Matt rides in to the rescue, Emma must decide if her relationship with him is worth saving, or if her chance encounter with Jacob is her tomorrow.




Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Spotlight on Reflection!

GIVEAWAY - JUST COMMENT ON THE POST TO WIN AN E-BOOK OF REFLECTION

Reflection

 E-book available now

Paperback releasing -September 2013

Blurb…

 Bridget Ross is a woman with a shameful secret. Despite a life full of success and close friends she denies herself her true desires in penance for the crimes she can't take back.

Connor Reynolds is a man without a purpose. His own tragic past prevents him from putting down roots and pursuing his dreams.

Their paths collide forcing them to face the ultimate question … is their love worth confronting their deepest fears and insecurities?

 

About the Author

 Hailing from Washington, DC, Elene Sallinger first caught the writing bug in 2004 after writing and illustrating several stories for her then four-year-old daughter. Her writing career has encompassed two award-winning children's stories, a stint as a consumer-education advocate, as well as writing her debut novel, Awakening - a novel of erotic fiction that won the New Writing Competition at the Festival of Romance 2011.

Excerpt:

 “I have no idea why you don’t see yourself as sexy, but you are. From your brain all the way down to your perfectly painted toes. Everything about you is erotic as hell. You get me hard in the same breath that you intrigue me with some thought you just spoke.”

She turned her eyes away and flushed even deeper at the mention of him getting hard over her. She was no prude, but she wasn’t used to men so casually discussing sexual things with her.

   

He didn’t say anything else, but he did shift until he was sitting more closely beside her. She could feel the heat from his skin through the jeans he wore. The cotton of his T-shirt did nothing to mask it either. A soft breeze washed over them and she could smell the light woodsy scent of whatever soap he used. Her entire body was instantly attuned to his.

  

She saw his hand move but was still surprised when he gently tipped her chin up to look at him. She didn’t know what she’d been expecting, but the depth of the desire she saw in his face was not it. She responded almost violently. Her nipples sprang to life, hardening and tingling against the simple cotton of her bra. She went liquid at her core and her heart rate kicked up a notch.

“I want to kiss you, Bridget. Hell, let’s be real, I want to do a whole hell of a lot more than that, but I want to start with kissing you.”

  

His eyes had deepened to an almost gunmetal gray with lust. She was completely mesmerized by his obvious desire for her, by the touch of his fingers on her chin, by the scent of his body so closed to hers. She didn’t bother reaching for words, she just nodded.

  

He leaned in and brushed his lips across hers. They were warm, and soft. As he deepened the kiss, licking into her mouth, she could feel the rasp of stubble from where he’d shaved earlier that day. His tongue leisurely explored her mouth. No crevice went without tending, but he didn’t force his attention on her.

  

 His hand ran gently up her body, stopping briefly to cup her breast. He lingered but a moment as if testing the weight and shape before moving up her body. She luxuriated in the feel of him. The soft invasion of his tongue in her mouth was both foreign and familiar throwing her even further off kilter.

  

She moaned and leaned into him bringing one hand to rest on his thigh which flexed under her fingers. Her blood was thrumming through her veins and she felt her body tuning to him. Any lingering embarrassment over the portrait was forgotten as she gave herself up to his kiss.

 She could kiss him forever.

  

Connor brought his hand to her neck and exerted gentle pressure to lean her backwards at the same time he turned and subtly shifted his body to cover hers.

  

She didn’t think, she simply reacted. Her knee connected with his balls and he exploded back from her curling into the fetal position with a sharp cry.

  

“Connor!” she scrambled to her hands and knees as realization sank in, “Oh my god! I’m sorry. I’m sorry!”

  

Hot tears began to run down her face and she chanted her apology over and over. He wasn’t looking at her. His eyes were clamped closed and he rocked back and forth, the pain evident on his face.

  

It was time to face facts. There was no use pretending anymore. She was just too broken.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Resisting Fate Blog Tour!

 Resisting Fate

 Heather Van Fleet
"I don't usually read werewolf stories, and I liked this one a lot!"



Synopsis:
Seventeen-year-old Emmy O’Connell is the epitome of a hot mess.
Her boyfriend’s been shipped out of town to some boarding school four states away. Her step douche is constantly drunk and badgering her. And then there’s her good-ole-mom… The lady is nothing more than a miserable shell of a woman. She’s turned off all of her feelings and her ability to be a good mother as well, leaving poor Emmy and her four year old brother Jamie to suffer. Life couldn’t get much worse, right?

 Enter the elusive, cocky, and oh-so-broody Jack Hartman…
The jerk cousin of her boyfriend becomes Emmy’s worst nightmare…times ten. He’s cruel. He’s insensitive. But he also has this strange little ability over her – he makes her weak in the knees with the single touch of his hand. But no matter how miserable or amazing Jack makes her feel, Emmy can’t seem to deny him, especially when he takes on the role of her protector –her pseudo-knight in a black leather coat. A knight who also just so happens to ride in on his black Harley, instead of a white horse…

And to make a bad situation worse…

Werewolves and teens shouldn’t mix! But what can Emmy do when she finds herself thrown head first into the center of it all? Can she handle the supernatural mess her life rapidly becomes or will she fight against the inevitable fate her heart desires?


About the author:

Heather Van Fleet currently reside in northern Illinois, with her three little ladies, and fabulous hubby, and high school sweetheart, Chris. She’s a stay at home mom by day, and an avid and completely obsessive writer and reader by night.
She’s always had a soft spot in her heart for books, and has been creating her own little stories since the age of seven. But she never really had the confidence or the time to actually sit down and really do something about it until her youngest daughter Isabella was born just two years ago. Bella, as well as her older sisters Kelsey and Emma, are and always will be her greatest inspirations.

Links:
Website   Goodreads   Facebook


Excerpt: 

“That smart mouth doesn’t sit well with me,” he licked his lips. His eyes never wavered from mine.
I nibbled on my lower lip, just as a small smile graced the edges of my mouth. Oh yeah, my bravado was about ready to kick some ass. I think I kind of liked being a smart ass.

“What are you going to do about it Jack?” I inhaled a breath, taking in his warm, delicious scent. My throat went even drier than before. I practically stared holes into his face as I studied every tiny mark, every single scar on his perfectly flawed skin. He was gorgeous, with a little scar here, a little white patch there. His hotness could have left me breathless for days if I kept up my perusal any longer.

And then I blinked, Christ. I knew exactly what had to be done. I had to kiss him. I had to get this itch scratched and then I had to move on. His eyes darkened, his breath was warm and heavy over my face, and he licked his lips. I blinked. Holy-balls… He wanted to kiss me too.

That ever-present electricity running between us wouldn’t stop. If anything, it only increased our pull. I moved in; his lips touching my lips was all I wanted. I needed to feel again, feel it all with a boy who hated me, but apparently wanted to kiss me as badly.

Dryness on dryness soon changed to warmth on warmth, and when I pressed my mouth fully to his, his hands left my neck, and went to my waist. His fingernails dug into my sides and the son of a bitch pushed me away from him.
So there I was, my head tilted to the side, ready, willing, and able to do whatever the hell this moment led us too, and all he could do was chuckle. Yes. Chuckle.

He was the biggest rat bastard.
Ever.